1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

A way for non programmers to send push notifications?

I'm a web designer who developed an android app for a client with the help of an android developer. Is there an easy way for my client, who knows no code, to send push notifications? I was hoping for a simple app or website where he could load his contacts who've downloaded his app, then create a push message, then choose who among his contacts to send it to? Does such a thing exist? Thank you for any feedback.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by cgl102770
    I'm a web designer who developed an android app for a client with the help of an android developer. Is there an easy way for my client, who knows no code, to send push notifications? I was hoping for a simple app or website where he could load his contacts who've downloaded his app, then create a push message, then choose who among his contacts to send it to? Does such a thing exist? Thank you for any feedback.
    Absolutely. However, it's not as simple as that, as you will still have to do some setup on the code side of things, as well as some setup on the server-side. However, it's pretty simple with the 3rd-party tools available nowadays.

Check out the following products to help with this kind of thing. I've tried most of these, and they all seem viable, depending on your needs:

- Parse
    - Urban Airship
    - Push Wizard
    - Push Layer
    - Xtify

Let me know if you need help setting any of these up. Typically it just involves signing up for an account, then setting up an app on the website. Then you integrate the SDK into your app code, and you're done.
  5. No Profile Picture