1. Full Access
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

OK, I downloaded Apache 1.3.12 from their website (http://www.apache.org/dist/apache_1.3.12.tar.gz) and I burned it onto CD in order to get it onto my Linux box (which hasn't got a modem). So I tried to install it with the commands:

cd /tmp
    tar -zvxf apache_1.3.12.tar.gz

In return for my hard work, I get the following message:

gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
    tar: Child returned status 1
    tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

I would hazard a guess that this means that the file I downloaded, complete with its extension .tar.gz is not a gzipped tar file. Help! Now I'm lost. I'm extremely new to Linux and I have three aims: to get mySQL, Apache and PHP4 all working together. I've got tutorials that tell me how to do this but very simple things seem to go wrong. Does anyone know what that error means and how I can fix it so that I can install Apache??

I also got a really wierd problem the other day. I'd just installed mySQL on my Linux box, and it started fine (with /usr/local/mysql/support-files/mysql.server start) but then when I tried to start mySQL by typing mySQL it worked fine, and I got the thing telling me "Welcome to mySQL, blah blah blah". Then when I tried again, in the same place a couple of days later, I got bash: command mysql not found or words to that effect. I did a directory listing and found a file called mysql which i presumed was the executable. It was in /usr/local/mysql/bin
    I went to that file in File Manager and found that it was of type text-plain!