Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Another newbie question regarding RewriteRule

Hello folks!

This is my first post here, my name is Gus and I'm from Brazil.

I have a website and I need to add a RewriteRule on it. The problem is that I'm a complete newbie on this subject, so I will need some help from you.

The first thing that I need is to redirect everyone that goes to my website to a file inside a folder.

I asked my website host to add a DirectoryIndex but they said it is not possible (insecure) and told me to do that by RewriteRule.

So every time that someone type my web address, he need to goes to /folder/file.php

But is not that simple, because I also need that when someone clicks on my banners, I receive the strings from Google URL Builder.

And there is more: my website allows the user to make its own URL, like mydomain.com/user so I already have this RewriteRule:

^/([a-z,0-9,A-Z,_-]+)$
    flag: Continue (last) /myhotsite.php?ID=$1

So let me try to explain in topics:

1) mydomain.com -> /folder/file.php
    2) mydomain.com/?utm_source=blablabla -> /folder/file.php/?utm_source=blablabla
    3) mydomain.com/* -> nothing happens, no redirect, it keeps my current rewrite rule that goes to /myhotsite.php?ID=$1

In case 2, I need to keep the query strings, that will go to Google Analytics (as long as I'm concerned, I need to use QSA, but not sure how to)

So, how do you think that we can solve this in the easiest way?

And which rule will have priority: the one that I already have or the one that you will help me to create?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Best regards,
    Gus
  3. Transforming Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

DirectoryIndex (a) can be used inadvertently to create a security hole yes, but that requires a hole somewhere else before it can be used, and (b) wouldn't help in this situation because it can only specify filenames while you need a directory path too.