1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Noob at .htaccess and mod rewrite

I'm really new at this, only started my hand at hosting a website 3 or 4 days ago and I don't really have any previous experience so please excuse me for not simply following the tutorial.

Ideally what I wanted to do is this:
    Code:
    Alias /sync /home/private/weave/index.php
    But I can't, my host doesn't allow write access to the httpd.conf file or any of the other apache files.

I'm under the impression that mod rewrite and .htaccess can create something similar to alias, but I'm not really sure how it's done. The one's I've created so far haven't been very successful.

If anyone could help me with this, it would be greatly appreciated.
    I'm not sure what is necessary, so I'll try provide as many details as possible.

The full path to my server is:
    Code:
    /f5/somn/public/
    this corresponds to:
    Code:
    mydomain.com/
    The full path to the folder I want aliased is:
    Code:
    /f5/somn/public/sync/
    this corresponds to:
    Code:
     mydomain.com/sync
    The full path to the folder this alias should link to is:
    Code:
    /f5/somn/private/weave/
    This does not have an outward address

this is what I have so far in my .htaccess (/f5/somn/public/.htaccess):
    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteRule /sync/(.+)$ *and then I don't know what goes here*
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What does there is the file you want to run. Something like /home/private/weave/$1

You probably want to anchor /sync/ to the beginning of the URL too, ^/sync
    PHP FAQ

Originally Posted by Spad
    Ah USB, the only rectangular connector where you have to make 3 attempts before you get it the right way around
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)