1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Site not accessible for external users

Hi,
    I'm quite new to apache and i've run into a problem... maybe someone can help me out....

I've installed apache2, php5 and mysql on a machine with ubuntu 10.04 (machine's ip is: 192.168.1.98 ). I've created a simple html page in "/var/www" with a simple text "site will be available soon". The page can be viewed from all the machines in the same LAN as my machine: 192.168.1.xxx.

I wish to make this page available from outside the LAN. Our network admin told me he made all the neccessary adjustments (i think port forwarding) so that anyone who tries to access our main IP 99.xxx.xxx.xxx (we do not have a domain name yet) will see that page. However nothing works and i was told that it's an apache config issue.
    The apache config files were not modified in any way.

Can you give me some ideas about what can be wrong?

Thank you!
  3. They're coming to take me away

Have you gone through the httpd.conf file to verify all the info is correct?

There are various directives that may or may not be correct especially if you didn't make any changes.

The directory for the files it's serving for instance...
    "I don't need to get a life. I'm a gamer. I have lots of lives!"
  5. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What happens when you try to access it from outside the LAN.
    PHP FAQ

Originally Posted by Spad
    Ah USB, the only rectangular connector where you have to make 3 attempts before you get it the right way around
  7. No Profile Picture

Thank you for the replies!

@hiker: my httpd.conf is empty, however, i have an apache2.conf file. ServerRoot is set to "/var/www" and there is an include function for a file "/sites-available/default". I've modified this file using some examples i've found on google, but i had no luck.