1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

AS400 programmer needs help with classic asp problem

I am a AS400 programmer asked to fix this Classic ASP program. I am clueless with classic asp, please offer help if you can.

I am attempting to get the last record (many sequence numbers) as long as the date field is not blank. If so read the next one. I am able to grab the last record if the hearing date is not zero.

I am having difficulty getting the code the read the next record. For example, if seq. 12 has a hearing date with a 0, read seq. 11, check if 0, is so, read seq. 10, if not use that hearing date.

Please show me what i am doing wrong and explain, if possible. The form is CASE "34" and the fields are Hearing Date (dthearing) and decision code (decCode). Some of the code is commented out, as I test, to attempt to get it to work. This code pre-populates a formatta form from a as400 database. The hearing date is HRGDAT and the decision code is DECCOD (COPY) in the descriptor file. The hearing date cannot be greater than today's date.

Function GetLastHeldHearing(x)
    dim dtHearing, dtLastHearing, hearingDate, decCode, idx, arr(1)
    hearingDate = ""
    decCode = ""
    dtLastHearing = cdate("1/1/1901")
    For idx = 0 To x.getElementsByTagName("CASHRG").Length - 1
    dtHearing = CDate(FixDate(x.getElementsByTagName("CASHRG").Item(idx).Attributes.getNamedItem("HRGDAT").Text, "Short"))
    decCode = x.getElementsByTagName("CASHRG").Item(idx).Attributes.getNamedItem("DECCOD").Text

arr(0) = dtHearing
    'arr(0) = hearingDate
    arr(1) = decCode
    GetLastHeldHearing = arr

If dtHearing <= Now() And dtHearing > dtLastHearing then

dtHearing = FixDate(x.getElementsByTagName("CASHRG").Item(idx).Attributes.getNamedItem("HRGDAT").Text, "Short")
    decCode = x.getElementsByTagName("CASHRG").Item(idx).Attributes.getNamedItem("DECCOD").Text

'arr(0) = hearingDate
    'arr(1) = decCode

end if

Next
    'arr(0) = hearingDate
    'arr(1) = decCode