Thread: New to ASP

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Thumbs up New to ASP

I am new to ASP. Could you help me in finding a good site to learn it from basic.

I have some knowledge in JSP, do ASP have a Translator like JSP ??

VIJAY
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

ASP is primarily implemented on Microsofts Webservers ie. IIS or PWS (Internet Information Server or Personal Web Server)

Which are available for most windows operating systems.
    IIS is more industrial strength than PWS although not all windows versions can run IIS most can run PWS. Windows XP Home edition does not run IIS without some major tinkering.
    IIS come with windows NT as a service pack I think but comes built in to windows 2000 server. If you have windows 2000 workstation or win95/98 you can download a version that works for you from the microsoft website.

The only major contender to the IIS is from chilli soft who do a UNIX version of ASP. http://www.chilisoft.com/ although I have seen some simple clones.

ASP can use either JScript or VBScript to program in, and surposed other languages can be plugged in.

The best place to start is look at the documentation at chillisoft and at http://www.microsoft.com/scripting where there is plenty of Jscript and VBScript documentation.
    --

ngibsonau
  5. No Profile Picture

There are a lot of site for fundas

There are a lot of sites for fundas ....

Well to begin with why don't you go thru

http://www.w3schools.com/asp/

This is simple one with simple examples ... get the basics from this site and then jump into the swiming pool ... i am sure u will learn swiming soon...

Wish you all the best ...

Regards
    Sanil
  7. No Profile Picture

I am new to ASP also. I have been a PHP programmer for the past 2 years ... but with a new job at a different company comes the task of learning a new language!