1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Creating An Excel Spreadsheet From Web Form Data

I want 2 create a survey Web Form that people can fill in. I then want the data entered to be saved to an Excel spreadsheet located on a server.

Can .ASP handle this kind of task? and if so does anyone know the code required to perform this function?

The data entered will be RAW and the .ASP (or whatever required programming) will need 2 process and convert the data into the spreadsheet.

Also, would it be possible to run this from a stand alone machine so that the web form, .ASP and spreadsheet are all contained on the machine and have no outside influences?

I am new to using .ASP and server side processing so basic steps and terminology would be appreciated!!!

Cheers
  3. No Profile Picture

I know no-one has yet replied to my post but I have been investigating myself since the post and I have a very simple question.

If I am inputting into my code <form action="formhandler.asp"> does the document I am putting the code in have to be called formhandler.asp or does it have to be saved as an HTML file and a seperate .ASP file be created?

Suppose what I am trying to say is do I need one file with an .ASP extension with all HTML and ASP coding within it or one for the HTML and one for the .ASP???

Also. is there an easy way to test if the pages are working without posting to a website? I am using Windows XP Professional if that is any help!!!

Cheers
  5. Contributing User
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

You only need one page: formhandler.asp

if you're really clever, you can put the form on the same page as the formhandler, and post the form to itself.

Now, automating Excel. Here is an example using JScript, you could probably convert it to ASP (cos it seems to be the same syntax):

Code:
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JScript"> 
    function AutomateExcel()
    {

// Start Excel and get Application object.