1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Problems with FileSystemObject and ADO

Hi guys,

I'm trying to do a fairly basic count operation for my chatroom on NoFeeHost and I'm really stumped.

After trying a few things, I realised that Server.CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject") was failing every time. I just want to be able to read and write to a text file using Classic ASP.

Assuming that I'm correct and that certain hosts (Jabry seems to possess an identical interface) only allow you to work with databases, could anyone tell me why the following code caused a 500 error?

PHP Code:
    <%
    set conn=Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    conn.Provider="MSDAOSP"
    conn.Open(Server.MapPath("db/sample.txt"))
    conn.Close
    %> 
    (It's the most basic version possible. Unfortunately, I've no experience with ADO and usually write my ASP code in JScript.)

Apologies in advance if I'm not being descriptive enough but I think it's a fairly trivial problem. I just can't see what it is!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Stumpier old Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

If you can't open a text file with the FSO you probably won't have any better luck adding another layer of complexity with ADO. Most likely your file permissions are incorrect in the directory where the text file resides.

If you posted the actual error message it might provide more insight. If you're using IE try turning off the "show friendly http errors" setting.
    ======
    Doug G
    ======
    It is a truism of American politics that no man who can win an election deserves to. --Trevanian, from the novel Shibumi
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by Doug G
    If you're using IE try turning off the "show friendly http errors" setting.
    Well that's something I didn't know about!

Here's the error message:
    Provider error '80040e21'