1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Website Password System, ASP, Javascript and SQL (How to get working?)

Hi, I am actually new to ASP, and haven't used any javascript for years. However I have inherited some code from someone else (yes they passed this on happily and willingly).
    Bascially I have a web front end, which requires a password system.

1.On the home page of the site, the user is greeted and there is a text box to enter a username and password before clicking a "login" button.

2.There is also an "email password" button to click. If the user clicks this and has entered a valid username (which will be their email address) into the username textbox, then some code would run to select the password that corresponds to the username in the SQL Server Database that is being used with the site. The code would then create a new random password, replace the previous password with this new one in the database, and also email this new password to the user.

I believe that I actually have quite a bit of the code that would require this system to be set up, and that from looking at it (i know i'm only new to ASP) I don't get the feeling it would take too much to get it working..hopefully i'm right.

anyway I'm going to have to show some code here so this is the form code that is used on my homepage, the form data is passed to a page called "login.asp" which deals with the authentication / necessary database transactions:

Code:
    <FORM ACTION="website/login.asp" METHOD="post">
    Welcome, Please log in<BR>
    Username:<INPUT type="test" name="username"/><BR>
    Password:<INPUT type="password" name="password"/><BR>
    <INPUT Type="hidden" name="key" value="*****"/>
    <INPUT Type="submit" name="RequestPassword" value="EmailPassword" onClick="clickFuntion">
    <INPUT Type="submit" value="log in"/>
    </FORM>