Thread: more freeBSD

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I have been using only Windows for this 5 years and just had freeBSD installed by other person on my note-book PC.

I pretty much seriously know nothing about unix operating system, and don't even know how to connect to the internet yet.
    I already have apache installed for the freeBSD, though I don't know how to start the darn thing, nor make it connected to the net.

So, I was re-thinking about running the server on Win98. But I have heard that there is no flock() function, and no chmod function.

What are the bad side to run a server on Win98? Should I just read the documents at freebsd.org and run a server on unix? It must be easy for me to run it on Windows since I know pretty much stuff on it.

Thanks. I need some help.

------------------
    http://millennium.massassi.net/
  3. No Profile Picture

That's a decision only you can make. I started using freeBSD about a year ago. It's hard at first. I used to use Macs only.

I think that it is worth the time to learn it. FreeBSD is a good solid, secure system.

I would invest in a book. It helps to know some Unix administrators too.

Good luck!

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hideki:
    I have been using only Windows for this 5 years and just had freeBSD installed by other person on my note-book PC.

I pretty much seriously know nothing about unix operating system, and don't even know how to connect to the internet yet.
    I already have apache installed for the freeBSD, though I don't know how to start the darn thing, nor make it connected to the net.

So, I was re-thinking about running the server on Win98. But I have heard that there is no flock() function, and no chmod function.