1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

A hello and a few questions

Hey guys, I am actually just starting to learn how to code and I had a few questions I was hoping someone could help me out with. But first here is a bit of background info: I am 23 and I studied finance in school. I only took one Calc class and two or three statistics classes. I took no classes on anything related to computers whatsoever. Here are my questions:

-Is 23 a little old to start learning this? Just curious. It interests me a lot and I regret waiting so long to learn.

- How strong should my quantitative background be if I want to be a successful programmer? I am not trying to build complex video games or anything remotely like that. I want to learn how to build websites, apps, and finance related/trading stuff I won't get into.

-Just out of curiosity, look at instagram and snapchat. Those look like pieces of software that are not extremely complicated to an uninformed person like me. Are they? Could a person learn how to make something like that within a few years of consistent study? Or are all of the popular websites we use works of art that very few people can create?

Thanks.
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Originally Posted by Massimiliano
    -Is 23 a little old to start learning this? Just curious. It interests me a lot and I regret waiting so long to learn.
    Then why don't you simply do it? Becoming a decent programmer is not like becoming the next Mozart or something.

If you're willing to learn, you can start programming at any age. You don't need to be a genius.

- How strong should my quantitative background be if I want to be a successful programmer? I am not trying to build complex video games or anything remotely like that. I want to learn how to build websites, apps, and finance related/trading stuff I won't get into.
    What's a "quantitative background"?