1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need some insight [moved from PHP]

Hey everyone. Here is my story, I will try to keep it short.

I created my first website on geocities when I was 11. I worked on it for about a month and then never coded again until just a few weeks ago (I am 25 now). I started pursuing an IT career two years ago at age 23 because I was an electrician following high school and I didn't want to do that for the rest of my life. I enrolled in college to find a new passion, took some IT courses, and just recently have gone back to my routes of programming.

I still was not sure about what I wanted to do in IT when I first enrolled, so I decided to go after a certification just to get my foot in the door somewhere. Well now I am really starting to realize that I want to be a programmer. I love typing code in and then seeing the result; to create whatever I want.

So I have been studying for the CompTIA security + exam the past couple months, and am planning on taking it next week. The problem is, I don't think this will help me get an entry level programming job.

I need some direction.

What jobs would be a good fit for someone like me who enjoys making websites?

What certifications should I shoot for to prove my knowledge of programming?

I plan to learn all of the major languages. Some will be self study, but I have taken an intro programming course at college, and plan to take a more advanced one next semester.
  3. Transforming Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Originally Posted by Kimura410
    "Web developer" is the generic term. Look at the individual job descriptions and see if they match you.

Zend's [edit] if you're looking for something to do with PHP [/edit]. I don't put much stock in any others.

I plan to learn all of the major languages. Some will be self study, but I have taken an intro programming course at college, and plan to take a more advanced one next semester.