1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question

Hello. I'm looking to make a career change into web developing but as a newbie I don't know where to start.
    I am considering taking certificate programs at a university in web technologies however its pretty expensive and time consuming, so I don't want to go down the wrong path. Does anyone know of any good programs in the Boston, new york or new jersey area for someone who already has a useless college degree. How did you guys who are in the profession get your start and is it possible for someone without a computer science degree? I mean I know HTML and graphic applications but no other programming, so where do I go from here? Thank you all for any help you can give.
  3. No Profile Picture
    PerlGuy
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Wink

Hey,
    I'm a programmer involved in more than just Web-Development and I have no degree at all. (lucky me!) I started off with HTML as you did, which is essential to get into web-development. At this point though, you're going to want to learn some other web-technology such as: PHP, JavaScript, ASP(blech!), or even Perl(for CGI).

I taught myself Perl out of a book([url="http://www.oreilly.com"]Oreilly{/url] books are great), and from there I moved into:
    1. The many things you can do with Perl
    2. PHP and Javascript
    3. Relational Databases(a MUST as far as I'm concerned)
    4. Internet protocols and network stuff

Don't get intimidated. Just keep at it and remember that it takes time. Classes are probably a good idea as they will indicate to a potential employer that you probably know you're stuff.

Also, don't just learn this stuff by reading it. Do it. Build some sites, just for your own use. Set up your own computer with a web-server and some scripting languages. Practice this stuff and put down whatever you do on a resume.

It takes time but if you're persistent and motivated you'll do it.

Hope that helps,
    - dsb -
    Perl Guy