1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How do people create new programming languages?

I'm a novice programmer, having only briefly played with some Java, some C++ and OpenGL.

Something that's always confused me is how do people create new programming languages?

Sub/related questions:

1) What language do they write it in?
    2) Does the language have to be one that in between a high level language and machine code?
    3) What are the stages/elements of creating a programming language (From my basic research I've realised that all programming languages either need a compiler or an interpreter but I don't really understand the difference between the two)

As I said, I'm a complete novice but I'm really intrigued by programming and really wanna learn more. I'm like a really crap tennis player who wants to know everything about tennis!
  3. I <3 ASCII
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

I'm going to (attempt) to summarize a few years worth of college courses into the space of this post. Any factual errors are unintentional and (hopefully) inconsequential. But it will give you a good idea of where computers started and how they've progressed and how they progressed.

If you want to get into the history of computers I'd look at things such as the Jacquard loom and Babbage's difference engine. These two inventions probably had the greatest early influence on early modern computing. Usage of punch cards (Jacquard) and the mechanical 'calculation' (Babbage) provided a great foundation.

So lets start with how the computer works. At the heart of every computer is a Transistor (and before that vacuum tubes). The big thing behind a transistor is it can send electricity in two different ways, depending on it's state*. This allows for the creation of logical flows of electricity. With this we can create all sorts of wonderful things**: nand gates, and gates, half adders, multiplexes etc.