1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

New to programming

Hello,

My name is Michael and i am new to the land of programming.
    I am also a University of Maryland student and my degree path is software engineering with a minor in cyber security. I am a first year student and so eager to absorb everything i can in this huge field of programming.

I have some basic questions i am sure you guys have answered a TON of times...

1. I am currently working with C# in class and i think its great beginner high level programming language to master. I am looking to buy some development tools to assist me in my code'ing and maybe start squirreling around with other ideas.

2. Are there any magazines i could subscribe to that has some good reading regarding the land of programming?

3. What text editors do you use to write your code? i currently use note pad or word pad.

Thanks
    Michael
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

3. What text editors do you use to write your code? i currently use note pad or word pad.
    Pretty much anything capable of editing text is better for writing code than those two programs. On Windows, you could look at Notepad++.

2. Are there any magazines i could subscribe to that has some good reading regarding the land of programming?
    Not that I know of

1. I am currently working with C# in class and i think its great beginner high level programming language to master. I am looking to buy some development tools to assist me in my code'ing and maybe start squirreling around with other ideas.
    If your focus is on C# you might want to look at Visual Studio. Many universities have deals with Microsoft that will give you free access to it, I would check into this if I were you.
    PHP FAQ

Originally Posted by Spad
    Ah USB, the only rectangular connector where you have to make 3 attempts before you get it the right way around
  5. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)