1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How to get a programming job with no CS degree

Hi everyone,

I would like to know how to get a programming job with no CS degree. I work in the financial service sector, and have no work experience with programming. I've been teaching myself python for the past year, and enjoy it a lot.

I'm not too picky as to what my first programming job is. I don't mind doing mundane/routine programming tasks.

My questions are

1- Which programming jobs have the lowest barriers to entry?

I've read that front-end web design (html, CSS, javascript) and software testing have low barriers to entry. I've seen many user-experience design jobs that don't require a CS degree either.

Are there other programming jobs/positions that are easier to get into, given that I don't have a CS degree?

I'm assume that jobs with the title "software engineer" are harder to get without a CS degree.

2- What languages are good to learn for someone without a CS degree?

I feel that learning something like Java or C++ might not be a good choice, because a lot of people with CS degrees with have those languages. I feel that something like Ruby or PHP might be a more even playing field, since those aren't taught in school, and most people that code those languages are self taught. Am I correct in thinking this?

Thanks everyone
  3. Contributing User

Hi!

It was discussed several times in this and neighbor threads. As a matter of fact degree in CS gives you not much priority in the eyes of employer. The most significant thing is the industrial experience.

Surely, at some point, when starting, you have no industrial experience to show. You then should create good impression at interview and by test exercises if you will be lucky to have one from your potential employer. Anyway, searching for job for the first time is a bit harder.

Now to your questions.