1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Software engineering question

Hello everyone, please feel free to share educated knowledge only. Okay a little bit about me i am a freshmen college student currently im only doing math courses. i love computers in general i use to be a web designer 5 years ago but i lost the touch for it because now i am more interested in the language of computing and the idea behind applications and software development.

lately i have been doing a ton of research on Microsoft and Google code websites. I've been thinking where to start as a new software engineer i have some little experience with C++ is a really fun program to work with. So my real question here is where do i began for a career in software engineering. What is a good program to begin with and become familiar with the idea of computer science to help me understand it more in order for a successful career in computer science major.
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What would you like to do? Each sub-industry has its own language (or set of languages). Health care uses older languages like fortran (though not exclusively). Manufacturing/robotics use C. Research uses more abstract conceptual languages like lisp. Desktop application programming use C#, C++, Java. Web programming uses PHP, JSP, C#. Embedded systems (toys, TVs, cash registers) use C.

What does your school recommend? Are you allowed to choose your track? My school forced everyone to learn C++, Java, and PHP (1-2 semesters each). I further took courses in assembly, C, Perl, and Lisp.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin

"The greatest tragedy of this changing society is that people who never knew what it was like before will simply assume that this is the way things are supposed to be." -2600 Magazine, Fall 2002