1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Teaching programming, any advice?

Hello everyone.

I am a teacher and I have been teaching for many years. I have taught a few programming languages at different levels at a community college.

If you have never taught programming then let me tell you that it is a lot more difficult than teaching more traditional subjects; especially when your students are weak. So for all these years I have managed to survive and have actually done quite well. However this year I have been asked to teach Java to two groups of first year university students but the problem is that most of them are not at the right level since this is a franchise type of course for a university and these are not traditional university students (e.g. older people with little IT knowledge, who decided to go back into education) and some students really struggle. For example we are a few weeks into the course and there are some students who still donít know what a variable is! They learn and forget. Trust me I am not a poor teacher and I was especially asked to teach these courses because of my ability, but there is only so much you can do with weak students. Some of the better students are getting frustrated with how slow progress is. I am really going slowly but the weaker students say that I am too fast!

So I need some advice. I really want these people to learn. I know for a fact that some other teachers would just let them get away with plagiarism and may even assist them with their work but that isnít me.