1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Visual basic 6 still worth learning?

Other than some by hand web design years ago I have No programming experience
    I recently bought a book from a second hand book store for $1.00 Titled "Learn to Program with visual basic 6" by John smiley. I was bored yesterday and decided to read a couple chapters. I like the way it reads and believe I could easily get into programming with this book. However this book is over 10 years old and visual basic 6 wont be supported after windows 7.

My question is, I have visual basic 6, and installed a virtual xp machine to run it on, but I guess I just don't know if its worth it?
    Would it make sense to learn visual basic 6 then later I could transfer that knowledge to Visual studio 2010? (the main reason is that I already have a book for it lol) OR are the languages and GUIs too different to where learning 6 wont help me with visual studio at all?

I don't really know what my goal with learning programming is in terms of what id like to do, just the idea of being able to create my own programs in general sounds good, maybe someday id get into old console emulation or something I don't know.

If you're suggestion is not to learn vb6 or vs2010 and start somewhere else entirely, please tell me what language, and where to get the best book with which to learn it. Thanks!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User