1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Idea for a website - don't know what to learn

Hi,

I have ideas for a couple of websites that I'd like to set up, but I have no idea the best way to go about it.

One would be a simple business directory where members could edit their own profiles and their locations would be shown in a searchable map.

The other is similar but would be like a survey where I give out individual log in details to people and they come along and fill in a form. Their responses are then displayed on an individual web pages, or in a blog format, and also the responses as a whole can be sorted and displayed by the various form categories.

I know both of these types of sites already exist, but have no idea how to begin! I'm a complete programming noob. They tried to teach me matlab and mathcad at uni (I'm a mechanical engineer) but I was having none of it. I wish I'd tried harder back then but for some reason I just didn't 'get' it, and still now when I read tutorials or code other people have written I'm often totally lost.

I understand that ready-made software can be bought to do this, but am not too familiar with what's available for free/cheap as I don't want to spend much money. On the other hand I don't have masses to time to spend learning and writing code, so I guess it depends how much learning I'd have to do vs the cost of ready made, bearing in mind I'll probably be a slow learner. Also I'd prefer to be able to understand how to manage/modify the site after it's set up.

Anyway, and tips or advice would be gratefully received!

Thmx
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User