1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

A point in the right direction

Hi guys,

I'm an absolute beginner with no programing experience and an ambitious idea for a project. I work for a media agency writing article summaries for various newspapers. I do my work in Word and then have to upload my summary for each individual article separately on the agency's website in what essentially looks like a basic 'new thread' page on a forum. So to upload an article summary I have to chose the newspaper title from a drop down list, then type in the date of the newspaper in a separate box, then type in the page number of the article in a separate box, then copy paste from Word the title of the article, then copy paste the summary into a text box and lastly click submit. I usually do 80 -100 summaries per paper and have to repeat this process for every article so you can imagine it gets tedious and it takes 15-20 minutes. I want to develop a program that's going to do that for me. The way I type my articles in Word looks like this eg:

PRIME MINISTER ANNOUNCES TAX REFORM
    Article discussing Prime Minister Gordon Brown who announced tax reform.

So, page number, title and summary. Firstly, how hard would it be to create a program that does this for me from beginning to end ie. opens a Firefox window, loads the agency's website, logs me in, uploads my articles and logs me out? What would be the best language to create such a program in? From some of the reading I've done I'm inclined to start with Visual Basic although I'm not sure if it would be the easiest or the quickest way to get the job done. Also, whatever suggestions people have can you please point me in the direction of some good beginners resources that will allow me to quickly progress to the level I need to write this program?

Thanks in advance!
  3. Transforming Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)