1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Newbie - Where do i Start?

Ok, im a hardware tech for my company and im going to be learning to program small mobile apps for demo machines.My work has provided me with the SDK's and Visual Studio 2008.

I will prgramming for Win CE 5.0 and Windows mobile up to 6.0 and only will i be programming for ce andmobile platforms and a bit of database connecting either on site or online.

So i have a few questions:

1. Whats the best books/videos to by to concentrate on mobile development.

2. What should i learn forst vb,c# or c++

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance Mark
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Google is your best tool... It has always been better then any book. I would try to look for tutorials and walkthroughs so you can see and understand the patterns of any language.

If you need to know C# I would start off learning Java... It is very identical to c#... You would be able to pick up the elements of programming quickly by using methods and creating functions (2 terms you should understand) in Java which Java is super super easy and in my opinion the best pick me up language. After you get that and learn c# find out the difference between languages. C++ you'll have to learn "pointers" which are complicated at first, but im a young programmer.... So some may say dive into c++ at first. I recommend Java as a first time learning language.

Just take a breathe and play with java. As you learn the lingo and words of programming the words don't change but how you program is slightly different. All languages have the same concept, memory management, methods, functions, data types, data structures, algorithms, variables, constructors..... look up those words. I'd start with a tutorial programs that are "hello World" and work from there.