1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Learning web design

Hi, I'm Mike, and I'm a graduate from a College Marketing program and I'm working with my family company that's trying to market an automotive repair website online to make a bit of money for my parents retirement and myself.

I know the topic of learning web design has been beaten to death on this website, and many of the questions I'm going to be asking have been answered. I am a busy guy, working a full time job and trying to market this product online successfully. I'm really reaching out and trying to find some good people to help me fix my website before it's too late.

I've started trying to learn HTML and from there I really don't know where to start in terms of learning how to change, maintain and enhance my parents website. The reason I want to do this is because we have hired web developers in the past and they can never seem to get it right, or even close for that matter. I want to learn this myself so I can make the changes and keep things progressing.

Can anyone offer books to read, videos to watch, programs to practice building and languages/programs/techniques I should be learning or buying?

I have almost 0 programming experience to make things even better. /sarcasm

The site is chipfixx.ca, a wordpress site, please be gentle when critiquing as I have no idea what I'm doing

Thank you,

freerider_4life
    Mike
  3. Code Monkey V. 0.9
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)