1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Programming languages and where to go

Howdy DevShed!

I've been programming for ~2 years now. I find myself able to do small Java Swing applications that do something fun. Recently I wrote a ClassDiagram creator that reads a C++ header file and outputs the Diagram as a jpg.

I also am currently doing a 2-man project on a game with Java and libgdx(opengl for java). This is not very difficult for me.

However, I am now wondering if I should keep developing in Java or if I should switch to C++ or even some of the script languages especially in hindsight of getting a job in this industry.

I guess the root of my question is: When does switching from Java to C++ as a "main" language make sense?
  3. No Profile Picture

It makes sense when it makes sense. Remember, Programming languages are just tools. In the end, no one is going to care if you used Java, PHP, Ruby, C++, C#, Assembly, etc... They're going to care if you're providing them what they need.

That said, the answer depends. For example, if you're not going to use C++ in your lifetime, why switch?

Now, if you just want to learn the language, then that is a use, (basically an intellectual investment) but that said it just depends when you want to learn it.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I've been a developer for awhile, and I've seen many job opportunities. Frankly, I'd say Java is a better bet. C++ is very popular in some industries (especially the gaming industry), but if you're proficient in Java, then you really won't find it too difficult to find a job somewhere. This is just what I've seen based on many conversations with recruiters over the years. That being said, C++ is still used very widely, so I would imagine it's still a safe bet if you enjoy it more.

Also, if you know Java, you can pick up Android mobile development as a plus.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User