1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Change Career to programming

I am an attorney in a bad job market and looking to change careers. The local community college has some certificates in software development and I see different online diplomas, certs and degrees in programming. Can I get some advice about what kind of career path I can or should take short of a full blown bachelor's in CS (which is too long and impractical for me)?

And if you think its not plausible without a bachelor's in CS please let me know that too.
  3. No Profile Picture

definitely possible

Luckily, this is one of the careers where a degree is VERY supplemental.

I'd suggest learning and programming on your own, though this requires self-discipline (which I presume you have).
  5. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

A BS in comp sci will certainly help, there are many companies which require a degree in IT/CS or a related field to even get you through the door. You can't rely on charm or whatever to get you through that wall, since it's often a robot (or the human equivalent) doing the filtering and your resume will be discarded if the keywords aren't met.

That being said, actually DOING programming is far more dependent on experience than on education. In school they gloss over the real problems in favor of showing you the interesting ones. Nobody wants to take a course on input validation and injection security, so the schools give you courses in algorithmic analysis, discrete structures, artificial intelligence, and robotics. The most useful class I took in college was Formal Logic, an elective. The most useful thing I did in college was found an internet startup with my roommate, fail, and start over.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin