1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How do I use Def and functions

Hi all sorry I am totally new at not only python but also posting tried to change my Tread title but couldn't. Should have read the new user post first.

The program needs to do the following:
    The user inputs a number any number then the program gives the even numbers up to the number input. So if you input 10 the result will be 0,2,4,6,8,
    This is what I have so far but it keeps returning something else. I have to use this format Def then function then result

PHP Code:
    def evennum(i):
         for 
    i in range(0,20,2):

evenrun = (0,int (user_num),2)

return 
    evenrun

user_num 
    input ("please enter number:")
    num_resolt evennum (int (user_num))
    print(
    "The result of"user_num"is",num_resolt
    please any help will be appreciated.
    Last edited by Alf4JC; July 18th, 2013 at 09:30 PM. Reason: Bad beginner post
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

First, I'm not going to do your homework for you, but I will point you in the right direction.

Second, try using the "python" highlight tag instead of the PHP one; different language and all... (you can just write highlight="python" in square brackets to get this also).

On to your problem:
    python Code:
    def evennum(i):
        for i in range(0,20,2):
            evenrun = (0,int (user_num),2)
        return evenrun

user_num = input ("please enter number:")
    num_resolt = evennum (int (user_num))
    print("The result of", user_num, "is",num_resolt)

Check out line 3. You're declaring a variable "evenrun" with a value that is a tuple consisting of
    Code:
    ([a literal zero],
     [the result of the int() function with the argument "user_num"],
     [a literal two])
    So conceptually if the user inputs, say, "5", evenrun will be "(0, 5, 2)" (...or not, there are other problems below). Which is probably not what you want.