1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Where do I start to learn programming?

Hello folks. Other than some very very basic HTML that I use on Ebay, I have ABSOLUTELY ZERO knowledge of any type of programming. I would like to create web pages and websites. Where would I begin ? What languages should I begin with as an absolute beginner ? THANKS
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

It depends on HOW you learn as to what types of resources to use for learning [online tutorials, videos, books), but, as for WHAT to learn, here is my list:

1. HTML
    2. CSS
    3. Javascript
    4. PHP (or other server-side language; ie. perl, python, JAVA, etc.)
    5. MySQL(or some other database/SQL language; ie. postgres, firebird, sqlite3, etc.)

(PHP/MySQL pretty much go hand-n-hand IMHO)
    Last edited by DonR; September 22nd, 2013 at 03:37 PM.
  5. No Profile Picture

Smile

Originally Posted by DonR
    It depends on HOW you learn as to what types of resources to use for learning [online tutorials, videos, books), but, as for WHAT to learn, here is my list:

1. HTML
    2. CSS
    3. Javascript
    4. PHP (or other server-side language)
    5. MySQL(or some other database/SQL language)

(PHP/MySQL pretty much go hand-n-hand IMHO)

I will learn online by tutorial based websites. I do very well with that type of learning like with lynda.com. I just need to know what to start out with. Also what kind of simple basic program I can use with my mac that uses numbered lines for code writing. I remember "go live" from years ago but now I am unfamiliar with what I should use to begin training.
  7. No Profile Picture

I can suggest that you start with page formatting: HTML Scripting.HTML is a very easy very fast type of language for beginner to develop sites.
    Hope this helps you.
  9. Contributing User