1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Which language to choose ?

Hello world,

First of all, i'm a newbie on coding & programming and only need some advice to get started in this coding journey.

As i work in the construction industry, my goal is to make a very simple program for building or creating Upvc, wood or aluminium doors and windows. It doesn't matter even if it took me years to learn to do it. Anyhelp where i should start looking ?

Thnx for the help.
  3. Lazy Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

I'm not sure what you mean for this program. Something like AutoCAD? To design stuff? Or what?
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by requinix
    I'm not sure what you mean for this program. Something like AutoCAD? To design stuff? Or what?
    Hi., No man., autocad is way to complicated and i'm not looking for a drawing program, it's more like a joinery software or a program for assembling doors and windows in 2d.

For example, let's say i have an aluminium single door to make. To make a door there are different aluminium profiles and accessories that you will need, i already have all the parts drawn, i just need a program to select the parts that i will need and the program will do some calculation base on my selection and the program will give me the outcome, like the cost, the list of materials, the cutting list etc....

I don't know if we are allowed to post external links but here's something that i want to do.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlW5RbgtSes

Thanks.
  7. Lazy Moderator

So no drawing. You enter in some information and pick stuff from a list, and the program does some calculations and spits out some other lists of stuff? Type type type, press "Calculate", see results?

Desktop, tablet ("app"), and web-based software can all do that. Mostly the issue would be about when you need to update parts of it - like the list of parts you choose from, how often that changes.