1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

'Page Fault' error when installing freebsd

I am new to bsd, have been running RH linux for a few months. Anyways, I go through a normal installation of freebsd...get rid of conflicts, install...but after it creates the filesystem (which it confirms), I get

syncing 1111111111...giving up
    it says panic: page fault error: reboot in 15sec.

When I reboot without the installation cd, it says:

>>FreeBSD/i386 BOOT
    Default: 0:ad(0,a)kernel
    boot:

a '-v' yields "No /kernel"

I have no clue what to do here...but I am pretty sure I screwed something up while installing because I never got to the extended config menu (interfaces etc)

Any help, even a little would be appreciated,
    Thanks
    Kevin
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

>> after it creates the filesystem (which it confirms)

Show us the exact unedited confirmation and the exact stage.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Here is the exact ( as far as I know ) text:

All filesystem written successfully //delays for about 20 seconds
    //when it still says 'all files...' at the bottom, this message pops up:

Emergency: starting holographic shell vty4
    //this just blinks for about a second so I may have missed something

Panic page fualt
    //it says this right under 'all filesystem...'

Syncing 1111111111111111111
    giving up on 1 buffers
    automatic reboot in 15 seconds

//**

Someone at school said that two devices may be conflicting and to change the bios. He said that it would probably be two pci devices, but in the kernel configure window, all devices have their own port so I don't know what else I can do.

In my other pc, I can get to the bios with 'del' but I don't know how to do it with this computer ( any clues? ).

Also, I am running an old compaq with 166mhz, 32ram, 2.5gb

Help is again appreciated
    Kevin
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User