1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

pccard & sound & X11 questions on FreeBSD

Hi all, i'm a bit new to configuring FBSD.

Yesterday, i tried to configure the network pccard (PCMCIA D-Link DE 660) on my notebook computer (PIII 366) with newly installed FreeBSD 4.1.1. (I didn't redownload the new 4.5 because of bandwith limitation.)

At first, the error message "Device not configured" always appeared at the boot time although the card and the model are correctly detected. I recoganized that there must be some inconsistancy in the setting entries in the files /etc/rc.conf and /etc/pccard.conf.

Later I (hopefully) corrected this error (after searching on the net to look at many relative pages, I have to say the HOWTOs section of FreeBSD is much worse than the documentation of Linux) because I saw sth. like "inserted in slot 1" during the boot and no longer the "Device not configured" error message. But now I encountered some more new errors (always before all are settled down ).

1. I could no longer ping to 127.0.0.1, it said "no route to the host", well i set the defaultrouter to "192.168.156.1" but does this matter? Before I successfully configured the card1 device, I can ping to 127.0.0.1.

2. at boot time, system says it can not find device "ed" (or "ed0", "ed1", "card1" that I tried in the "networkinterfaces" directive in the rc.conf file). ifconfig only gives out faith0, fig0, fig1, fig2, fig3, lo0, sl0, ppp0. How can I add such network device to the ifconfig output list (i.e. to let the kernel know its existance)?

I suppose the problem may originate from the pre-installation phase during with I skip the user customization of the device list and just use the lazy quick install option. Must I reinstall the system again to do this user customization? Is there any way that I can get around the re-installation?

3. my nslookup also does not work now, probably it's related to the addressing problem of 127.0.0.1.