1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unhappy Its my first time using adduser

Its my first time using adduser, could some one help me through the steps. for e.g. I am at Uid (Leave empty for default): what is this part, should I just leave it as default? I need to be able to su to root when im logged in. my mate (who is away and configed this FreeBSD box of mine (my forst ever non windows os and lovin' it btw)) so he added a user account for me "jay" but he hasnt done what ever you are supose to do to let that user su to root. When ever I type su it just says sorry. grrrr!!! lol. Anyway could somebody help me through the steps, i dont wanna stuff this up. thank you in advance SCwish
  3. No Profile Picture

Amendment

I went out on a limb, and just hit enter, where its asking me "Uid (Leave empty for default): now it asks "login group [jay2]:" is this where I type wheel? umm, Ive gone a little further, i reckon I'm stuffing this up, Ive now typed wheel for both the previous and "Invite jay2 into other groups? []:" then
    "Login Class [default]:
    Shell (sh csh tcsh bash no login) [sh]:
    I have no idea what comes next, the guides Ive found are (like I said earlier) guides, they don't tell me like the diff between sh csh tcsh bash and no login, so I dunno which one to use, I so wanna learn this stuff, look i don't wanna free ride, can some one just recommend a really detailed tutorial, that they themselves have read and found to be very good?!?!? Please Thank you
  5. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    This is what I do.
    adduser
    Enter the login ID
    Enter the real user name
    Leave the UID as is (just hit enter)
    Leave the login group as is (just hit enter)
    Invite jay2 to other groups: this is where you enter wheel
    Login class: (just hit enter)