packages please post addy.

thanks,
    easytoker
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Finally a real OpenBSD question.

>> i dont want to use pf i want ipf which i have used for years

Same here. Though, I have been playing around with pf for several months but I don't like it for several reasons:
    1) In 2.X, ipf on OpenBSD didn't have a good record in stability. It was broken in all version except 2.9-current prior to its removal. This leads to (2) below.
    2) pf, being a brand new packet filter, the stability of it is very doubtful. Unless it's been tested for a year or so, I don't think it's usable in a production environment at this moment.
    3) pf's author claimed that pf's syntax is compatible with ipf but that's not so true. pf seems to have an easily-readable rulesets than ipf and that's the only advantage I have experienced with so far. The problem is, when we are migrating to something new, it takes time and money and I can't afford it at this moment. So I'd wait and see.

>> is it possible to dl the newest ipf and compile it to work on 3.0

Definitely but not a wise move just because ipf can no longer be built into the kernel. That was the reason why I didn't try to look for the answer for your same question.

>> if you guys know of any good openbsd forums

http://www.deadly.org/
    http://www.openbsdpost.net/ (not 24/7, perhaps 6/3)
    http://www.daemonnews.org/

>> places that folks share packages please post addy

Don't know any. Why don't you search google.com?

Just so you know, I used to run 4 OpenBSD boxes plus other BSDs and I have 2 Open left (2.9-current and 3.0-current). 2 of them were being migrated to NetBSD and FreeBSD.
    So my question is, is there any valid reason why you can't migrate to Net/Free so you can continue to use ipf?
  5. No Profile Picture

thanks for your help