1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

FreeBSD server setup without X, right?

Hi,

If one is learning FreeBSD to be able to setup and run web, database and other types of servers on the internet, should (and can) one do so *without* installing and using XFree86/X-windows?

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????
    Are there any problems one is likely to run into doing (and learning) *everything* via the command line -- no GUI or KDE/GNOME desktop to help in the early newbie stages?
    ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Is the same true for one learning programming in the unix environment -- using GNU type tools? I'm new to unix.

What are the best resources for a newbie in learning FreeBSD with an eye towards server administration?

Thanks a bunch,

Louis
  3. No Profile Picture

Hi, what I need to know is can you set up servers OK without GUI?

Hi,

I understand that a serious server won't have a GUI.

What I'm wondering is, can one set up a FreeBSD server with whatever servers are desired installed correctly and securely -- web (i.e. Apache or AOLserver), database (i.e. PostgreSQL), mail (i.e. Sendmail or Qmail), DNS or whatever -- COMPLETELY via comand line without using X windows (i.e XFree86) at all?

I'm interested in FreeBSD primarily as a public internet server OS; but also as a desktop for software development -- separate boxes, of course!
  5. No Profile Picture
    Gödelian monster
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

In fact, your question is a reverse of the actuality. You can't properly set up FreeBSD without using the comand line. You will have to spend a little more time learning BSD than your standard Linux, but it will be worth it.

FreeBSD has what is probably the best command-line installer and configuration program you will ever see. It is essentially a GUI, but without the need for X-window display, since it runs in character mode on a regular terminal, or telnet/ssh session.