1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Samba Configuration

I am hoping this thread is okay here.

I just installed Samba on FreeBSD 4.5. This is my first time trying to configure it. I used the instruction found on http://www.bsdvault.net. All seems to have worked well, but I am running into problems (hence, this post).

This is what is happening:

I can access SWAT from my Windows XP computer.

Samba seems to run fine when I am on the computer running Samba. In order words, if samba is running on localhost, I can run the sambaclient program on localhost and log in as user unix user and get dumped into my home directory.

Windows XP shows the Samba Server under My Network Places: Workgroup. It seems it, but when I try double-clicking the Samba Server icon, I get a pop-up that reads: \\ComputerName not available. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. The account is not authorized to log in from this station.

I am not sure what to do at this point. Funny thing is, I can see the Samba Server from windows, but trying to browse the connection gives me an error.

Any ideas?

Please help. Thanks in Advance....
    Edgar Castanedo
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

might be a password problem

I am not quite sure about XP but from Win98 on ward they are using encrypted password. If this is the case, you setup Windoze to use plain text or setup Samba to use password encryption.

For the Windoze option, you have to install "/tools/mtsutil/ptxt_on.inf" from the Windoze CD.

For the Samba option, you have to add "encrypt passwords = yes" in smb.conf and you have to create smbpasswd file.

I hope this is your problem...
    % gdb core tzuchunc
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Well that was easy... It worked!

Thanks for your help. Too cool. I owe you one.
    Edgar Castanedo
  7. No Profile Picture