1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question How much to charge for this?

I recently made a website for a friend that included mysql login/register coding, galleries and guestbooks etc. and charged no money for it.
    As with most 'customers' though they want changes and now wants the website to automatically email him every day with a list of those who have registered in the last month and also a more automated gallery where instead of uploading say 5 photos at a time he can just FTP them all in a folder and the website automatically displays them.
    I've told him the automated email stuff would require scripting or some technology that I'm unfamilar with and also the gallery code will need to be re-written from scratch so basically said I'm unwilling to do all this for free.
    He said he will pay me and to give him a quote. Question is how much would a professional charge for these 2 things?

I'm not really a web developer so have no idea about pricing. I do know that the work I've done so far is worth a couple thousand dollars at least.

Thanks in advance.
  3. They're coming to take me away

Originally Posted by wurdup
    I recently made a website for a friend that included mysql login/register coding, galleries and guestbooks etc. and charged no money for it.
    As with most 'customers' though they want changes and now wants the website to automatically email him every day with a list of those who have registered in the last month and also a more automated gallery where instead of uploading say 5 photos at a time he can just FTP them all in a folder and the website automatically displays them.
    I've told him the automated email stuff would require scripting or some technology that I'm unfamilar with and also the gallery code will need to be re-written from scratch so basically said I'm unwilling to do all this for free.