|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |||||||||
|
|
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Fab Spider, Halifax
A friend of mine in England has been approached by a company called Fab Spider to develop the company's website. Do any of yall know anything about them?
Seems they want full payment after a month but there portfolio looks tacky, 1 and 2 page sites most of which don't seem live and look to me like templates. Hell they charge $1000 per page for development. There website has been up about 18 months but very little sign of much development work on it. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
So their work is "tacky" and it's overpriced and they can't even make their own site look good? Sounds to me like you answered your own question.
__________________
medialint.com "Beware of the man who works hard to learn something, learns it, and finds himself no wiser than before. He is full of murderous resentment of people who are ignorant without having come by their ignorance the hard way." - Vonnegut - Cat's Cradle, 1963 |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
I used to work for them.
![]() To say that theres some sharp practices going on would be an understatement. I became increasingly uncomfortable about the terms and conditions seeing as though I couldn't see any way they could actually deliver the websites. I was one of the first employees, yet after a year they had completed less than 10 websites with orders ( and big deposits ) for 40 or 50 more.... Make of that what you will but the prices were ridiculous for what they were offering... |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
A friend of mine was also approached by fabspider for a website. My friend has a small business in Halifax and asked if i would take a look at what was being offered, and if fabspider was a good web design company.
So firstly i looked at the fabspider website and was shocked at the first impression. The website really doesnt shout 'Creative Design Agency' at all, it looks like a work experience guy built it and at my last check had 48 validation errors! QUOTE: "team of very creative, very professional developers." Really? The site lacks any style at all, has very bad use of typography and the use of whitespace is shocking. To finish it off they have used a bad collection of stock images. Okay, so then i spoke with a developer over at fabspider, dan or don i think he was called with regards to one of their prefab websites. The info i was given seems like a rip-off. Basically it seems they are using wordpress (a free cms platform) as the base and then removing all its functionality only to sell it back to you at £100 per add-on!!!! Hows that for cheek! Anyway, i told my friend to stay away from them and find a better company. |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
I think that's enough opinions thread closed.
|
| Viewing: Dev Shed Forums > Web Site Management > Business Help > Fab Spider, Halifax |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
|
|
|