|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |||||||||
|
|
|
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Legitimate Request or Not?
Hi guys, I just received the following email request via my site contact form:
Quote:
So to give him a fair valuation I went to the site, and then also googled the domain to see what I would find. Well I have come across several sites with the exact same email so I'm thinking that this dude is not legitimate. Last edited by elkehinze : June 15th, 2007 at 07:07 PM. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Well I have about 30 sites tied to my e-mail but go with your gut ... "money doesnot matter for me" is a crimson flag.
__________________
medialint.com "Beware of the man who works hard to learn something, learns it, and finds himself no wiser than before. He is full of murderous resentment of people who are ignorant without having come by their ignorance the hard way." - Vonnegut - Cat's Cradle, 1963 |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
It wasn't so much that I found his email address, but I found that same email that was sent to me verbatim...I also find it odd that he says money isn't in issue. In that case it's going to be $100K to do his site
![]() |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Recived the exact same email.
We actually were gullible enough to follow it through, but after having exchanged a couple of emails with them it is CLEAR that it is simply an attempt to get you to register. Here is how we are handling the issue: Quote:
|
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
More of the same:
http://www.developreneurs.com/website-design/238766.html http://www.multilingual-search.com/japan-web-development-and-web-marketing-consortium/06/04/2007/en/ |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
This is how they replied to the email:
![]() Quote:
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Here's my rule of thumb. If they can't take two seconds to spell check their message, I just delete their message. If they ARE legit, I wouldn't want to do business with them anyway.
I understand that English is not the first language for most people. But if you want to use it, then use it properly. I don't go around bastardizing other languages, stop ruining mine. |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Just a quick update. I ignored him, and he just resent the same email to me again
![]() |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
I got the same request from this guy. I told him I'd give him a full proposal if he pays my consultation fee of $50 USD. If he's not just a spammer he should have no problem with that, especially on a 75K budget.
They're showing up in a wiki as well, which contains warnings about them which keep getting erased. I can't post the url, but its at aboutus dot org slash bizpam dot com perhaps a "real" member can repost that in clicky form ![]() |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
|
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
I never answer an inquiry with spelling errors or with words that are not in the dictionary. To me this spells problems.
Rich |
![]() |
| Viewing: Dev Shed Forums > Web Site Management > Business Help > Legitimate Request or Not? |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
|
|