1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Software for billing/pricing a software project?

Hi,

I do a bit of freelance project-based software development as a side job, mainly for a few local businesses I've been working with for a few years. Very occasional, maybe I'll do 20 or 30 hours every few months. Since it's just a side-job, and I have established relationships with the companies, I've usually been very lax - oral contracts, flat hourly rate, pretty much just do some development, ask them how they like it, and get payment.

Recently I took on something that's turned into a mammoth project, plagued with endless requirements changes, etc. The normal stuff.

Can anyone recommend a package (preferably web-based, and I'd rather not spend the time writing my own) to take care of things like generating PDFs of quotes and invoices, keeping track of billable time, requirements changes, etc.?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Jason
  3. No Profile Picture

Jason, I'd recommend looking at QuoteWerks. It's not web based, but it will create PDF quotes and invoices for you automatically. It's pretty easy to use and inexpensive as far as software goes. It also has a small footprint (77MB). The website is just quotewerks dot com Let me know if you have any questions.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Thanks for the advice. I guess I should have mentioned:
    1) I don't run Windows. Either Linux or Solaris (yes, on the desktop as well).
    2) I really want something web-based. If I have to write it myself I will, but I can't be tied to any one computer.
    3) Something that handles change requests, etc would be great.

Maybe, if I ever get around to it, I'll write something...
  7. Contributing User

I am using WR Time Tracker (http://wrconsulting.com/cms/wrtimetracker/index.htm)