1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Using another site's design/layout? Legal?

I am a web developer who unfortunately doesn't have an ounce of artistic ability in me. When I get a client, often times I will scour the interent for various design ideas. When I find one, I will use it for my site, sometimes with minor adjustments, other times with major adjustments. These "adjustments" might be color schemes, nav bars, etc. So, I recently got a web site job from a hotel in Europe. A very nice hotel at that. There is a hotel in America whose web site I just love. The site is designed in such a way that it is very symetrical, meaning I could essentially just flip-flop the layout. For example, their site has a nav on the right side of the window, but if flipped, it would be on the left side. What are the legal concerns in doing such a thing?
    Today the world, tomorrow the universe...
  3. No Profile Picture
    tony
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

i think you need to change a certain amount of the site

as in more than the colour scheme, in theory your passing off someone elses work as your own
  5. Kung-fu Kitty
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Remember that history report you 'wrote' in school? It had different words in places, and it was not identical, yet it bore an eerie resemblance to the encyclopedia's article on the same subject.

It's called plagarism. Web design is copyrighted, just like other works.

When you find a site you like, save the source, study it to figure out how they did that cool thing with the menu or whatever, but when it comes to creating your site build it from the bottom up it your own words, your own code.