1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Protecting my software

Hi, i'm looking for some legal advice. I work as a support technician in a college and have written a program for the college to use (please note my job role does not include any programming, rather this is something i did in my own time and not by their request). I am happy for them to use my software free of charge, but i would like some intellectual property protection. What would be the best course of action?
    thanks
  3. Type Cast Exception
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

It's work for hire unless you signed something saying otherwise. It does not matter whether it's in your job title or not. You created the program while you were being paid on the job. The copyright belongs to your employer, not to you. You do not have any right to it.

For more info, please read this:

Copyright office circular on Works Made for Hire Under the 1976 Copyright Act

A lounge mod may wish to move this to Business Help.

--edit: ok, you said it was done "on your time" ... it may be hard to prove that. Especially if it was still done in their facility or their equipment, especially if it was done for their benefit. You may wish to expand on this.
    medialint.com

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” - Dr. Seuss
  5. Sarcky

Originally Posted by lint
    You created the program while you were being paid on the job
    Not quite:
    Originally Posted by hassant
    rather this is something i did in my own time and not by their request