1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

ECommerce / Accepting Payments

This is my first time creating an eCommerce site with a shopping cart and inventory database. I've done some research but am still unclear about exactly how I can accept payments online. I know you must have:

1.) SSL Certificate
    2.) Shopping cart and web app. designed.

now I know you can get SSL certificates from network solutions, and I can build the shopping cart, but I'm unclear about Payment gateways - merchant accounts. Can somebody please help me get this eCommerce project going by clearing up what I need to accept payments online.
    -- Success achieved from tribulation --
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Well, you pretty much nailed it, to accept credit card payments directly you need a payment gateway and a merchant account.

Although you can accept credit card payments indirectly without a merchant account through a few payment gateways (PayPal).

You would get a merchant account through a normal bank. Then you could sign up for a gateway like authorize.net.
    PHP FAQ

Originally Posted by Spad
    Ah USB, the only rectangular connector where you have to make 3 attempts before you get it the right way around
  5. Contributing User

My 2cents to add to the info. stated by E-Oreo

I'd recommend you to use PayPal as a payment processing gateway for a simple fact that it can accept payments through multiple credit cards from various nations, plus it's more popular.

There are a various advantages of having a gateway involved when accepting payments. It'd verify information, transfers requests and authorizes credit cards in real time. For that reason you may consider Authorize.Net , CyberSource and VeriSign .
    Webhosting.uk.com :: Reseller Hosting | Cloud Server UK | Fully Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Great Opportunity :: Join our Affiliate Program for FREE & earn upto 300! per Sale:clap:
  7. Contributing User