1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How to build an availability checker for holiday?

Hi, i have just started learning coldfusion and am extremely excited about the new possibilities data integration brings to a website!
    My first project is to build a site for holiday villas which i would like to include a database for availability.
    My initial idea was to build a database with 365 columns, one for each day of the year, then the availability checker would be a database query to see what values were in the columns (type thing!)
    I would like to be able to add booking details to each date when they happen so as an administrator i can see whats happening on certain dates. Would this be a relational database, one for bookings and one for the dates?
    Im using coldfusion on iis5 and microsoft access databases.
    I have completed some tutorials and understand setting up the site with a remote folder and testing server and can set up data sources.

Can anyone help me figure out how to stucture the databases to handle this functionality, is the way im thinking somewhere right or is there a much better way??? Please help i cant wait to learn!
  3. No Profile Picture

You definitely *don't* want to build a database with 365 columns just to handle lookups for dates. That's an extremely denormalized (and inefficient) design. Think of how many empty cells you'd have in your database.

What about something like this (table name at top then the column names):

Properties:
    propertyID (primary key)
    propertyName
    propertyAddress

Bookings:
    bookingID (primary key)
    propertyID (foreign key)
    bookingDate