1. Put a potato on it!
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Cfmail sending blank emails

Again, because I'm still learning Coldfusion, I may be missing something but when I use the cfmail tag to send an email and use the cfmailpart tag, the message of the email is blank. The subject, from and to lines are filled in, just not the body.

Here's the code that I've tried:

PHP Code:
    <cfmail to="myemail@host.com" from="test@sample.com" subject="TEST - Resetting your password.">
        <
    cfmailpart type="text/html"><cfoutput>test</cfoutput></cfmailpart>
        <
    cfmailpart type="text/plain"><cfoutput>test</cfoutput></cfmailpart>
    </
    cfmail
    and

PHP Code:
    <cfmail to="myemail@host.com" from="test@sample.com" subject="TEST - Resetting your password.">
    test

<cfmailpart type="text/html"><cfoutput>test</cfoutput></cfmailpart>
    </
    cfmail
    Both of those attempts have blank messages. This sends an email with "test" in the body:

PHP Code:
    test
    </cfmail
    We're using CF9 and I looked at the documentation to make sure that the tags were up to date, as we were on CF 8 until recently. It looks okay to me, but am I missing something that would be causing the blank message?

Thanks!
    "Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities."
  3. No Profile Picture

Try something like this:

Code:
    <cfmail from="yourFrom" to="yourTo" subject="yourSubject">
     <cfmailpart type="plain">
        Plain text
      </cfmailpart>
     <cfmailpart type="html">
        <cfoutput>
          <h1>HTML</h1>
         </cfoutput>
      </cfmailpart>
    </cfmail>
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by Jyncka
    <cfmailpart type="text/html"><cfoutput>test</cfoutput></cfmailpart>
    Since you mentioned being new to CF, a few tips about <cfoutput>

1) cfoutput tags are only needed when outputting a CF variable, not plain text.