1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

REST CFC on Win7 and Apache

Hello,

Last night I spent 6 hours (no kidding) trying to get a hello world REST CFC to work and could not. Very disappointing. I have been using CF for 12 years and have been using Jersey for a year in java. There is so much conflicting information out there on setting this up that it is just hard to know which tutorial to believe.

My environment is my Windows 7 PC running CF10 downloaded about 6 months ago coupled with Apache and for this test site I am listening on port 8080 and using a virtual host.

I have tried every possible permutation of:
    Using and not using forward or backward slashes in restPath parameters.
    Moving my entire site underneath or outside of htdocs so it is within webroot.
    Putting "/" in my function resPath
    Having only one "Get" method in my CFC
    Refreshing CF app server a gazillion times
    Playing with mappings in CFadmin to have my CFC located
    Using CFAdmin or the function call to register the service
    Using the Application.cfc (this.name) in url calls
    If it is out there on the web I tried it last night!

Nothing - SO VERY FRUSTRATING. Usually CF is plug and go but perhaps many kinds still in REST/CFC

The url I am trying to use is:

localhost:8080/rest/refdata/dropdowns

Ultimately I want a REST service component I can make ajax calls to for reference data.

Let's start with the basics, from the environment I have just described are there any known issues that would prevent this from working? Are there any patches I need for my CF10 from 6 months ago for running on Win7?

thanks - I am trying to put together a prototype to present at my MAJOR telecomm company. They are not currently a CF shop but I believe so strongly in CF I want to get it going in there. This is disheartening though!
  3. No Profile Picture

I haven't used the REST CFCs in 10 yet. Would something like this tutorial help?
  5. No Profile Picture