1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Problem processing session variables in CF9

As I am new to all of this and learning on the go, please forgive me if my question seems rather...lame. But I am trying to set a cookie on the host (a CF server), rather than in a domain via the client (WebSphere containing my java server page), which I could do via javascript in a jsp or java in a servlet.

But I can't really do these things here, since I need this particular cookie to be set on the host, by the host, since the other cookies being set on the host by the CF application running there, are of course, also set on the host.

I also cannot do this as an argument to a URL for security reasons. It is a unique user identifier that I'm passing to the other side. So in my mind, setting this information in a session variable seems like my best option to get it over to the other side. Unfortunately, I lack experience working with CF to understand the correct syntax for this.

Thanks for any and all suggestions.

Nelson
  3. No Profile Picture

Sorry, but I have no idea what you're asking. Please show some code or explain further.
  5. No Profile Picture

Okay, here is some code with some error msgs. I hope this helps to explain better.

The JSP has:

//Get an autogenerated session token and return it in argument called "ticket"
    Document doc;
    doc = Jsoup.connect("http://<hostaddr>/index.cfm?FuseAction=Security.Login").get();
    // Find the input tag with the token and extract it
    Elements inputs = doc.select("input[name=token]");
    String token = inputs.attr("value");
    String urlstring = "http://<hostaddr>/index.cfm?FuseAction=Portal.Home&RequiredProfile=1&ticket="; //I cannot also &uuuid= here because it is correctly being ignored on the other side
    urlstring = urlstring + token;

session.setAttribute("uuuid", "a users email address goes here");

response.sendRedirect(response.encodeRedirectURL(urlstring));