1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Development system requirements

I have just taken the reigns from my associate on coding or new site, which will consist of a php-NUKE based blog (HTML) and e-journal (pdf), a phpBB BBS (HTML, of course), and a chatroom we haven't thought much about yet. Later, we'll be adding some special tools and other enhancements, as well as some auxillery databases. the DB software is MySQL

I'm just starting on the coding today. and I'm coming at it cold, being am embedded processor engineer by trade, who's only done the most basic HTML coding.

Before I get to far into this, I need some assurance that my old clunker wil handle the development task. I have a P! 166 w/80meg RAM and 3.2gb HDD, of which only about 1gb is available, in the old AT format box. There's a 4MB SiS 6326 video controller, a TMC1211 eithernet board to a DSL modem, and a 56K Ambient HaM telephone modem occupying the 3 PCI slots, with nothing in the ISA slots. I'm running 98SE with MS networking support plus a Wind River WinPoET for the broadband. I also have Office97pro and all the usual downloads, like WinZip, WS_FTPpro, Opera, Diskeeper 8pro, etc.

The system is quite slow. Flash and Media Player apps come out in super-slow motion. But I'm mostly concerned about disc space. Can I download a whole development system, including manuals, grafics libaries, etc. and still have space to compile and run tests locally, before uploading to the server.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lifes a game! Play it well!

I can't see all the files taking more than 1GB - as at the end of the day they are only HTML files and TEXT based files.

Would you have room to put another Hard Drive in if needed?
    Simon Carter
    SCIS UK Limited
    info@scisuk.com
    http://www.scisuk.com
  5. No Profile Picture