Page 1 of 12 12311 ... Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

In the deepest recesses of the mess that is my bedroom

Angry Single-pixel Lines in Dell Inspiron Screen?

As a bit of backstory, I've never worked hands-on with a laptop before. Somehow, I ended up with one as my primary computer. Please save the 'lolz get a real computer' comments until after you've given your expert opinions.

Recently, some vertical lines have appeared in the screen. It has not been bumped, jostled, thrown, or dampened. It's a very spoilt little machine.

I don't have a spare monitor to test for a screen problem, but I might be able to jack a friend's when he gets back from vacation.

As far as I can tell from previous experience, I think the video card may be going. To be honest, I'd be much happier if that were the case, since I imagine screens are much more costly.

Has anyone else ever had this happen? Does anyone have any idea what's up?
  3. Providing fuel for space ships
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Hi Tentacular and welcome to Dev Shed.

It could be a number of things. It could be dead pixels on the screen (although, for them all to be dead in a vertical line is a little slim), it could be due to a wrong driver, a jolted graphics card or could be the ribbon connector going faulty.

Have you tried to upgrade the drivers in the first instance ?
    The No Ma'am commandments:

1.) It is O.K. to call hooters 'knockers' and sometimes snack trays
    2.) It is wrong to be French
    3.) It is O.K. to put all bad people in a giant meat grinder
    4.) Lawyers, see rule 3
    5.) It is O.K. to drive a gas guzzler if it helps you get babes
    6.) Everyone should car pool but me
    7.) Bring back the word 'stewardesses'
    8.) Synchronized swimming is not a sport
    9.) Mud wrestling is a sport
  5. Trapped on the forums...help
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)