1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

CPU temperature too high 65-75 C

I have a pentium 4 3.0 GHz processor
    I think its overheating cause the temperature never falls below 60 C
    Its usually in the range of aroun 70 C and at times touch upto 85 C
    The processor fan always runs at 3900 rpm and am not able to increase it beyond that.
    I am posting a screenshot of speedFan

Is this normal , cos i have read that 70 C is a bit high for the processor
    Attached Images
  3. "That Guy"
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Wouldn't you like to know? (To come beat me up maybee)
    I'll reply because it has been a few days.

70 is definitely high, not just 'a tad'. I am no hardware expert, but I would say it is not good for it to run that hot, its lifetime would likely be reduced.

85 is very high, it should never get that hot.

I do not know what fan speeds the fans normally run at, but mine runs at about 5300rpm. So your fan speed is not drastically lower than mine, and I wouldn't think it would cause, on its own alone, this much overheating.

~50C is a good temperature to aim for. My temperatures always stay below 50C.

Are you sure Temp1 is corresponding to your CPU temperature, and not something else?

How many fans do you have cooling your case? and are all exhaust vents clear of dust?
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Yup temp1 is CPU temp. I even checked it out using Everest Ultimate

There's only a single fan on the case . the one on the CPU heatsink.
  7. "That Guy"
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Wouldn't you like to know? (To come beat me up maybee)
    I may have understated the temperatures. Mine actually peak to just below 60C for some sensors in the case, after 24hours of being on. My Temp0 never rises above 42C, though.

50C is the default value SpeedFan uses to start showing a warning, so 70-85 is definitely too high.