Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. Prisoner of the Sun

Question Core 2 Duo E6850 vs. Core 2 Quad Q6600 ?

I'm about to upgrade (building from scratch) but I'm not sure which of these CPU's would be the wisest choice. They are both the same price.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 3.0GHz 1333Mhz, 4MB
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz 1066MHz, 8MB

I wouldn't mind over-clocking slightly, although I have no experience of that.

Thanks
    :: My blip.fm tunes :: Web Design Feeds :: Web Dev Feeds :: CheatSheets :: PHP :: MySQL :: 13 Moon FB App.

"All matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration. We are all one consciousness experiencing itself - subjectively. There is no such thing as death, life is only a dream. We are the imaginations of ourselves."
    - Bill Hicks

"Truth is hidden in the subtle nature of the heart of everything, although it is invisible. One cannot see it from inside and neither from the surface. One can only live and experience it."
    - Heart Sutra
  3. Trapped on the forums...help
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

depends on what your doing, the quad core is faster overall, but it requires a well optimized application to take full advantage of it, if you a heavy gamer i would probably get the dual core as most games are only two threads (though they are just starting to use a bit more then 2, they still can get nowhere close to using the full 4 cores). The 3Ghz will result in the best FPS for a gaming system, however if your doing stuff that works very well with multiple cores (server, programming [building specifically], ray-tracing), then get the quad core as it will be much faster

Basically if you need to get every ounce of speed out of a single threaded app then go for the dual, but if you run many applications or some that are very well threaded then get the quad as it has the best overall speed

Comments on this post

• b3n agrees
  5. Prisoner of the Sun

Originally Posted by edman007